People Are Just Realising There’s Fish Guts In Beer


Prepare to be grossed out, folks, because we’ve stumbled upon a rather unsavory ingredient lurking in one of our favourite tipples – beer. Brace yourselves, beer enthusiasts, because this might just ruin your pint!

Beer, that beloved staple of the global alcoholic scene and a cornerstone of British culture, has a not-so-delightful secret. You see, besides the four main ingredients – grains, hops, yeast, and water – there’s a sneaky hidden ingredient that might make you cringe. And guess what? It comes from a fish!


YOUR BEER CONTAINS FISH BLADDER‼️😱🍻 READ BELOW… If you’re vegan, put down your beer and pour out your wine. In fact, if you’re anyone, put down your beer and read this first. Filtered beers contain little to no yeast. Of course, yeast is necessary to the production of beer; no one wants to drink a yeasty ale. Left to its own devices, the yeast will naturally settle, causing the beer to clear. However, it doesn’t happen fast enough for large scale breweries. Their goal is to brew and ship. Therefore, isinglass is added. Isinglass is most commonly added to cask-conditioned ales, and when it’s incorporated into the unrefined mixture, it congeals with the yeast. This gelatin-like substance will settle to the bottom of the cask, leaving a filtered product. Is it necessary to use isinglass to filter beer? No. Again, the yeast will settle on its own. But the process is sped up using the isinglass, which, of course, increases profits. #beer #drink #alcohol #healthytips #tiktok #healthy #vegan

♬ Paris – Else

Yes, you heard that right – beer isn’t always vegetarian-friendly. Some beers actually use a fish-derived product called isinglass, sourced from fish swim bladders. Gross, right? It’s used in the beer-making process to clarify the liquid, and you might find it in certain wines as well. Back in the day, isinglass was made from sturgeon, but later on, methods using cod and hake came into play. Nowadays, British breweries opt for materials from tropical fish.

Isinglass is used by some breweries during the process. Credit: Randy Platt/Getty Images

Why is it used, you ask? Well, yeast can make beer all cloudy and sedimented, and that’s where isinglass comes to the rescue. When added to the brew, isinglass particles and yeast particles buddy up, sink to the bottom, and get filtered out, leaving us with a less cloudy beer. Phew!

But fear not, dear beer lovers! Not all beers use isinglass, so there’s still plenty for you to enjoy. Guinness, for instance, ditched the fishy stuff in 2018, making it suitable for vegetarians and anyone else grossed out by fishy ingredients.

Let’s dive into the list of some popular beers that do contain isinglass, though. Carling, Coors Light, Foster’s, and Kronenbourg are on the off-limits list. But hey, we’ve got good news! Many beers, like Birra Moretti, Camden Hells, Estrella Damm, Heineken, Grolsch, and Peroni, are vegan and vegetarian-friendly as they steer clear of isinglass in their brewing process.

So, folks, while there’s still plenty of beer to quench our thirst, let’s raise a glass to Guinness for sparing us the fishy business. And to those who are now grossed out by this little secret, don’t worry – there are loads of isinglass-free drinks out there. Cheers to that!