Pixar’s Lightyear Banned In 14 Countries Over Same-Sex Kiss


Due to the inclusion of a same-sex kiss scene, Disney-upcoming Pixar’s film Lightyear has reportedly been banned in 14 countries.

The United Arab Emirates banned the cartoon video on Monday, citing “violations of the country’s media norms.” The film Lightyear was supposed to be out on Thursday (16 June).

The United Arab Emirates, like other Muslim-majority countries in the region, prohibits same-sex relationships.

In 14 Middle Eastern and Asian nations, including Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Kuwait, Egypt, Indonesia, and Malaysia, Disney has apparently been unable to acquire the release of Lightyear.

According to the South China Morning Post, the film is unlikely to be released in China.

After Disney refused to make the modifications that authorities demanded, a producer for Lightyear reportedly told the publication that she expected the picture to be cancelled in China.

The film, which stars Chris Evans as Buzz Lightyear from the Toy Story films, is said to involve a short kiss between Hawthorne, played by actress Uzo Aduba, and the woman with whom she is in a relationship.

Evans allegedly stated these objections to the same-sex kiss were “frustrating” at the film’s London premiere on Monday.

“It’s fantastic that we’re a part of something that’s making progress in terms of social inclusion,” the actor continued, “but it’s disappointing that there are still places that aren’t where they should be.”

Meanwhile, at the occasion, producer Galyn Susman stated that nothing will be deleted from the picture, “particularly something as vital as the beautiful and inspirational relationship that tells Buzz what he’s missing by his choices.”